Coldplay release album setlist in local paper

The band, whose new album is out on 22 November, released the songlist in the North Wales Daily Post.

Lead guitarist Jonny Buckland tweeted the story from the band's account, explaining: "I once had a holiday job at the Daily Post, placing photos of houses for sale. I wasn't very good at it."

Though born in North London, Buckland grew up in Flintshire, Wales.

The band dropped a hint about the method of release when they announced the album earlier this week.

Posting a photo message on Twitter, they teased: "In the classifieds you might write, double album for sale, one very careful owner."

The typed letter had been sent to some select fans of the band, who shared theirs on Twitter.

Fans compared the letter from their musical heroes to getting a letter of acceptance from Hogwarts.

The Daily Post revealed the tracklist ad appeared alongside items for sale including a fridge freezer and a bale of hay, and below a Welsh Government public notice.

Songs include Sunrise, Church, Cry Cry Cry, and Old Friends.

Coldplay's last album, A Head Full of Stars, came out in 2015.

Sky News

© Sky News 2019

More from Music


  • Anne-Marie

    Anne-Marie is back with a new single, upcoming album... and pink hair, BUT her obsession with pink doesn't just stop with her hair!

  • Raye

    Our 2020 year of guests on Total Access kicked off with Raye as she joined us to chat about her new single 'Please Don't Touch'.

  • Louis Tomlinson

    Louis Tomlinson recently joined us on Total Access for a second sit down interview of 2019.

  • Lauv

    Lauv is releasing his next single 'Lonely' where he has teamed up with Anne-Marie, so we got Olivia Jones to call him again!

Download Our App

  • Available on the App Store
  • Available on Google Play